4 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2016 4:13 AM by mkih40437034

PGB support for iOS 10 upcoming release

mkih40437034 Level 1

Hello,

i would like to ask if PGB (iOS platform 4.2.0/CLI 6.3.0) would support the iOS 10 upcoming release which would be released this week, because i would like to make an app release right after iOS 10 release. Thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: PGB support for iOS 10 upcoming release
          kerrishotts Adobe Community Professional

iOS isn't out of beta yet, and as such, is not officially supported. Support for a platform usually comes fairly quickly after the final release, but this varies by release (depending upon what things the new release breaks).

As to timing of the release, I expect the following:

- Apple releases iOS 10 GM Sept 7; this release can submit to the App Store

- Apple releases iOS 10 to public Sept 14

Note: I have no inside knowledge on this; just history to go by. If this changes, then everything below will change by similar measure as well.

I would not expect official Cordova support until iOS is released to the public, which would imply some time on or after Sept 14. I don't know how many days it will be between Sept 14 and a Cordova release that officially supports iOS 10, BUT, in my testing thus far, iOS 10 and Cordova have been getting along pretty well even without official support. There are some quirks (when are there never any?), but my apps still build and don't crash, which is always a good thing. So my guess is official Cordova support will come pretty quickly.

Now, PhoneGap Build tends to take a little longer after that to catch up. I have no idea when PGB will officially support iOS 10, but it will likely be sometime after Cordova officially supports it.

My suggestion for now:

- Test your apps against iOS 10b8 (and GM when it drops)

- If they work, great! I doubt much, if anything, will change between b8, GM, and final release.