5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 11, 2016 12:31 PM by k99000805

Lightroom Lr - requires Internet connection or not?

k99000805

Newbie to Lightroom here - I hope someone can give me a definitive answer and I am grateful in advance for your help:

I am an avid hobby photographer and often without internet connection when away for longer time periods. In pertinent forums I have read that the full version of Lightroom 6 was the version that didn't require an internet connection to verify every few days. Going now to the homepage to Lightroom I didn't find a 'Lightroom 6' still on offer.

- Is this true?

- If I am away for two months in the field with my laptop - with no internet connection the entire time - will the version currently available as 'Full' on the Adobe homepage still work? Or does this version require login to cloud, and therefore internet connection? I need to know if Lightroom needs a working internet connection, even if it is only for moments for verification purposes every few days.

Thanks in advance for an answer!

• 1. Re: Lightroom Lr - requires Internet connection or not?
          dj_paige Level 9

There's no version that requires internet "every few days". Lightroom 6 requires the internet once when you first log in and register your serial number so it can validate your serial number, and does not require internet after that. Even Lightroom CC requires internet every 30 days to verify your subscription. So Lightroom 6 meets your needs.

• 2. Re: Lightroom Lr - requires Internet connection or not?
            bob frost Level 3

LR CC has the option of an annual subscription, rather than monthly. This allows you to be offline for up to a year, I believe.

Bob frost

• 3. Re: Lightroom Lr - requires Internet connection or not?
              k99000805 Level 1

Thanks for your answer, both of you.

All clear now

• 4. Re: Lightroom Lr - requires Internet connection or not?
                Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional