2 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2006 8:08 AM by Designs By Sacha

Interactive Tutorial

Designs By Sacha
      Hello.

I work for the biology department at a university, and I've been trying to put together an interactive tutorial for students which will be delivered over the Internet. I am new at scripting, and I've searched the forums and researched all the documentation for Director I can find, but I've had no luck finding much pertinent information. The tutorials I've done haven't really prepared me for what I'm trying to do either.

The activity I'm working on covers "plate streaking," or using a loop to inoculate a petri dish to grow cultures. I created the first part of the tutorial which is an animation to illustrate how the process is done. I saved this as a Flash (8) Video file.

For the second part, I need to create a "hands-on" activity for students to practice streaking plates. I thought they could use their mouse to click on and drag the image of the loop over the petri dish to streak it. Students will also need to rotate the plate 90 degrees, and pass the loop over a flame (animated gif) to signify cleaning the loop to continue with the next streak.