8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2016 8:50 PM by SlitherFang

Possible to animate something from a photo?

SlitherFang

Hi, I'm making a video and I want to add some effects such as animating this:BD2015_Wallpaper_1920x1080.png

I want to be able to make it move around a bit and animate the sparkles and glow. Is this something that can be done using after effects by an intermediate user? I've done very little in terms of animating before and I've never done any 3d modelling or animation before.

• 1. Re: Possible to animate something from a photo?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Not really. You would rather re-create the individual elements from scratch. 3D would help, but a lot of what's in the picture are just glowy lines that can just as well be re-drawn using masks and shape layers.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Possible to animate something from a photo?
            SlitherFang Level 1

I looked around a bit and i saw some examples of people animating pictures like here:

How To Animate a Photo | The 2.5D Effect - YouTube

and here:

Hearthside Chat - Golden Cards with Jon Briggs - News - Hearthstone

But is this the same type of animation that I'm looking for? Because these look like very small and slow movements but can it be fast and affect a larger area? Also to give an idea of how i plan to use it, imagine you're just on your desktop and then that flying dog comes out of your taskbar and flies around a bit.

• 3. Re: Possible to animate something from a photo?
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Puppet Pin may be sufficient for your needs:

puppet.gif

You would add your sparkles and glows and pre-compose before you animated the puppet pin.

• 4. Re: Possible to animate something from a photo?
                SlitherFang Level 1