23 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2016 9:23 AM by ZedGeneve

How to get the Column number

ZedGeneve

Hi to all,

I'm sorry to ask this question as i found 2 different answers, tried them without any result. So before becoming mad i prefer to ask !

So given mySelection = app.selection[0], how is it possible to get the column in which is the selection?

I tried app.selection[0].parentTextFrames[0].characters.itemByRange(0, x)

with x being app.selection[0].index.

but then i'm stuck as if i add ".textColumns" i get an error

I explored the second way using app.selection[0].textColumns.item(1).insertionPoints.item(1), but again i'm stuck.

As a beginner i don't understand why there is no simple built-in function to call in order to get such a basic result

Any help would be MUCH appreciated

Thanks

Ed

• 1. Re: How to get the Column number
          Trevorׅ Adobe Community Professional

Hi Ed

Before you go mad

var mySelection = app.selection[0];
          var myColumnIndex = mySelection.parentTextFrames[0].characters.itemByRange (0, mySelection.index).textColumns.length - 1;
          var myColumn = mySelection.parentTextFrames[0].textColumns[myColumnIndex];
          var myColumnsFirstWord = myColumn.words[0].contents;
          alert('myColumnIndex: ' + myColumnIndex + '\nmyColumn: ' + myColumn + '\nmyColumnsFirstWord: ' + myColumnsFirstWord);

HTH

Trevor

• 2. Re: How to get the Column number
            ZedGeneve Level 1

Too late i see the little men in white coming to pick me!

myColumnIndex = mySelection.parentTextFrames[0].characters.itemByRange (0, mySelection.index).textColumns[0].length - 1;

gives me an Object invalid error!!!

I tried for fun myColumnIndex= app.selection[0].textColumns[0].index; which ***seems** to produce a valid result, then

var myColumn = mySelection.parentTextFrames[0].textColumns[myColumnIndex]; gives me a column, but not it's number

and then var myColumnsFirstWord = myColumn.words[0].contents; gets an Object is invalid too.