3 Replies Latest reply on Sep 21, 2016 4:54 PM by Rick Gerard

Animate elements of an image?

JGSaunders

Warning: I just got Ae today so I am an extreme beginner!

I have the following image that I would like to animate:

http://i.imgur.com/CrW8xIU.jpg

I want the city and the Empire State Building to expand towards the viewer, while the zeppelin in the background moves slightly.

I have created a new composition and created three layers of the same image, one of which I used the pen tool to isolate the building and one of which I used the pen tool to isolate the zeppelin.

How do I get each individual element in the picture to move and magnify?

• 1. Re: Animate elements of an image?
          imeilfx Adobe Community Professional

You have to make your layers a 3D layers:

2016-09-21_07-18-41.jpg

You have to create a 3D camera in AE

2016-09-21_07-19-15.jpg

You have to move your 3D layers and scale them in Z space according to perspective of your image

2016-09-21_07-19-49.jpg

To move your camera you have to use Camera Tools

2016-09-21_07-20-26.jpg

To move or scale your layers just use transform settings of that exact layer

2016-09-21_07-26-03.jpg

But if you are a beginner - first thing for you would be to learn basics of AE f. eg. from here: After Effects CC tutorials | Learn how to use After Effects CC

• 2. Re: Animate elements of an image?
            Roei Tzoref Adobe Community Professional

one of which I used the pen tool to isolate the building and one of which I used the pen tool to isolate the zeppelin.

I would not recommend this type of workflow. Photoshop has far more superior methods of selecting and isolating parts of a still image. also you don't need Ae to calculate the masks or them getting in the way. you should isolate the images in Ps and prepare them for Ae.  you should read this: Preparing and importing still images in After Effects