13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2006 3:16 PM by Barefax

How to create framesets?

Barefax
      Not animation/rollover frames, but actual frame sets...
      As per my previous topic in this forum, I made a graphic to show my situation:

http://img270.imageshack.us/img270/8130/samplesite46732248at.jpg

The canvas is 800x600. Everything GREEN cannot be moved (meaning I do not want to change the layout). I would like a frameset (might be another way to do it, but it must function like a frameset) within this area with a scroll bar in it (BLUE)

I tryed adding a "layer" on top of it in dreamweaver, but the layer did not allow me to keep the size a certain amount. I pasted some sample text and the result was something like this:

http://img270.imageshack.us/img270/7898/samplesite445787547pn.jpg

Any possible solutions (keeping in mind I am a total newbie at web design)?

Thanks again
        • 1. How to create framesets?
          llamaparsnip
          I've put up a sample page here. If that's roughly what you need, you can tweak the properties in the css to your liking (e.g. positioning, dimensions etc).

P.S. I'd stay away from framesets if you can.
          • 2. Re: How to create framesets?
            Level 7
            Barefax wrote:
            > Not animation/rollover frames, but actual frame sets...
            > As per my previous topic in this forum, I made a graphic to show my situation:
            >
            > http://img270.imageshack.us/img270/8130/samplesite46732248at.jpg

It cannot be done in Fireworks. You need to do that in Dreamweaver.
            There's a vertical scroller extension for Dreamweaver you can download here:

http://www.projectseven.com/extensions/info/vscroller/index.htm

--
            Linda Rathgeber ACE ::: PVII
            http://www.projectseven.com
            Fireworks Newsgroup: news://forums.projectseven.com/fireworks/
            CSS Newsgroup: news://forums.projectseven.com/css/