9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2009 3:27 AM by Nanomedia

Failing Xtras

LorenLogic
      Hello, Director World! I'm a newbie but a longtime programmer. Everything I've attempted works in the Director IDE but the fileio and MUI Xtras fail when I preview in the browser! First, which of these six syntax choices (all copied or extrapolated from samples) is/are the best?:
      -- set fileIOInstance = new(xtra "fileio")
      -- set fileIOInstance = new xtra("fileio")
      -- set fileIOInstance = xtra("FileIO").new()
      -- fileIOInstance = new(xtra "fileio")
      -- fileIOInstance = new xtra("fileio")
      -- fileIOInstance = xtra("FileIO").new()
      Upon use, every one of them not only kicks me out of the handler immediately but also out of the script (where another handler in the same script calls the handler where I try to use fileio or MUI), leaving my movie working but without Xtra functionality. Yet they work just fine in the IDE. After many failures I manually added Modify>Movie>Xtras...>fileio.x32 and Mui Dialog.x32, but to no avail. Once I added them, when selecting them in the list, Include in Projector is checked but Download if Needed is grayed, unlike all but one of the other Xtras. They must have been included anyway by default for the IDE to work. In any case they showed up in the list when I put(_player.xtraList) before I added them manually.

So what shall I do? I have to save and load the user's productivity or my project is worthless. Can anybody help? By the way, this is a 3D project, but I would guess using Xtras is pretty basic. Thank you, everyone!

Loren

Loren Logic, LLC.
        • 1. Re: Failing Xtras
          Level 7
          Those xtras are not shockwave safe (as you can tell by the fact that it
          won't let you select "Download if Needed"). You can not use them in
          shockwave at all (for security reasons).

If you just want to save some data locally in Shockwave, you can use
          getPref() and setPref()