10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2016 5:04 AM by dj_paige

Lightroom is stripping the in camera filters on import.

geraldosilvaneto

Hello,

I'm new to Lightroom and photography, and did a photoshoot in RAW+JPEG using an in camera black and white filter. (I use a Leica V-LUX typ114)

When I export my photos to Lightroom, all the black and white images are automatically converted to colour after a few seconds and the in camera filter is lost. I now understand I should've shot in JPEG, BUT, is there a way to keep the in camera filter after the import? The filter is perfect, and I it would take me ages to try to replicate what I see in the camera using the tools in Lightroom.

Thanks in advance for the help.

• 1. Re: Lightroom is stripping the in camera filters on import.
          Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

Your camera always takes color images. Are you actually seeing the JPG images or only RAW images.

I have the same exact camera, only the Panasonic version (but still the exact same camera) and I just did a test. Set the camera to Monochrome and took some shots. I shot JPG + RAW and after import the JPG were B&W and the RAW images were color.

If you are seeing all color images then you don't have the option checked to treat JPGs next to RAW images as a separate file.

The RAW images are in color because RAW is RAW with no in camera settings applied.

• 2. Re: Lightroom is stripping the in camera filters on import.
            geraldosilvaneto Level 1

In the camera visor, I see the images with the B/W filter. When I import them to Lightroom, the filter is there for a couple of seconds, and then it's automatically converted to colour. For some photos, I can click on 'Previous' under Develop, and the photo is reverted back to B/W, but not for all photos.