3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 3, 2016 2:23 PM by kerrishotts

HTML5 video element can hear but not see when app build with PhoneGap build.

stevep69028138

Hi all, I'm new to PhoneGap so aplolgies if I say anything "stupid"...

I have the following html which works fine in Chrome, FF etc, standard HTML5 video element.

<video controls="">

<source src="videos/myfile.mp4" type="video/mp4">

<p>Your browser does not support H.264/MP4.</p>

</video>

The video plays fine when code viewed in devices broswer.

When I compile using PhoneGap build and view the resulting app on android 4.4.4, I can click the play button and hear the video, but not actually see anything.

I've done a bit of digging around and it seems that Crosswalk should correct this.

I have added Crosswalk to my config.xml and rebuilt, but did not see any difference and could still only hear the video

This is the code I added to my config.xml

<gap:plugin name="cordova-plugin-crosswalk-webview" source="npm" version="2.1.0"/>

Has anybody got the HTML video element to wok on android 4.4.4. using apps built using PhoneGap build? - If you have can you help?

Cheers

Steve

• 1. Re: HTML5 video element can hear but not see when app build with PhoneGap build.
          kerrishotts Adobe Community Professional

You're not using a PGB-specific Crosswalk plugin, so you might want to try one of those first. See Plugin Search - Apache Cordova. You're probably building for ARM at the moment, so add the "arm" version of the plugin. It probably won't make any difference, but someone else had a problem where using the non-PGB plugin was resulting in downloading the Intel APK instead of an ARM APK, which is one more headache you probably don't need.

On to your issue:

Can Android play the video if you copy it to the device on its own? Perhaps there is an issue with how the video was encoded.