2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2009 2:52 PM by morriske

Creating standards-compliant web designs with Fireworks CS4 Problems

i have some problems with using background image slices.

here is it(from the DevNet arcticle creating standards compliant web designs with fireworks cs4):

With this feature, seeing really is believing, so let's get straight to it:

1. Create a new 500 × 500 document.
      2. Draw a 200 × 40 rectangle.
      3. Set the background color as #000099.
      4. Set its fill to be a Linear gradient.
      5. Change the first Gradient node's color to #9999FF.
      6. Select Edit > Insert > Rectangular Slice.

Change the following properties In the Property Inspector:
      * Name: bg_rect
      * Width: 1px
      * Type: Background Image
      * Repeat: repeat-x
      * Horizontal position: left
      * Vertical position: top
      8. Using the Optimize panel, set the slice's export format to GIF - Exact.
      9. Export as bg_slice.htm using CSS and Images.
      10. Locate the file and preview it in your primary browser.

i followed these steps exactly but i get no tiled background only the 200 x 40 rectangle.can anyone tell me what's wrong ?

Kind Regards,

• 1. Re: Creating standards-compliant web designs with Fireworks CS4 Problems
          Dave Hogue
          I followed these steps exactly and also viewed the HTML/CSS exported in Firefox 3.0.5, and the rectangle appeared with the correctly tiled gradient background. (I'm on a Win XP SP3 machine.)