6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2016 4:53 AM by Laubender

Character / Paragraph styles exactly the same, but appear totally different.

michaelt98651456

Hi Friends,

I'm running InDesign CS5.5 on a HP/Envy dv7 PC. Some time ago a friend set up a template for the body pages of my magazine. I've been using that same template now for a few years, but it is no longer working for a new file. When I try to repopulate the article sites with new text, they list as the same specs as the old template (specifically, Font: Crimson Text, Font Size 10.5, Leading 12.5) but the results are completely different. I am confounded as to why. Attached are three images.

The first is how I want it to look - in the established template.
      The second is how it opens when the document is renamed and saved for my next issue. Also, to presume a question, I've tried packaging the file so I'm pulling from a direct fonts source in the same file as the document.)

The third is the best I've been able to do with by copy and pasting text from an InDesign file  / or importing text from another file (or Word / Google doc) and then reentering the font, font size and leading values.

What am I missing? This is confounding.

Any help would be enormously appreciated.

Thanks.

Mike

InDesignPreferedLayout.PNGInDesignOpenedAsNewFile.PNGInDesignValuesEnteredInNewFile.PNG

• 1. Re: Character / Paragraph styles exactly the same, but appear totally different.
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Unfortunately, your screen shots don't provide any information about the text itself, so all I can really see is the font size might be different, and the tracking seems to have changed.