4 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2016 5:35 PM by Rick E Johnson

shared libraries using constants from other plugins? :-/

Rick E Johnson Level 1

A shared library is somehow using constants from other plugins while running in debug mode (and I'd presume would when running in real-time).

I've been using shared libraries with AI plugins for over 20 years, but this is a new one for me. Using Xcode 7 targeting Illustrator CS6, I have an included .hpp and .cpp file from a shared directory for a class that reads and writes a preference file separate from AI's own file. In able for each plugin to have its own prefs file name, the shared class pulls the plugin name from a #define in Globals. When I have one or more plugins installed that also use this method, one of their global values are usually used instead of my current project's. I thought it might be from some common cache that I've been unable to identify, but when I simply remove other plugins from AI's Plugins folder, all is well. All other plugins are compiled as release versions. I thought all plugins operated entirely within their own space...

I'm an old hand (please don't tease me about my age) at C, but fairly new to C++. My plugins are written within their own namespace. Although it's the same name for most private classes (e.g., globals, geometry functions), the main class that includes all of the others has a unique namespace. The shared libraries, of course, are all the same files so they obviously have the same namespace. Once loaded into AI, can they somehow merge?

I should mention that this project is built largely with Hot Door CORE, but with a prefix header that imports key SDK suites. I'm certain that the problem isn't CORE, though, that it's me. Relative to another recent post about different tool plugins sharing the same tool group, if this inter-plugin behavior can be repeated and controlled, it could turn out to be a good thing.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.