13 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2018 8:56 AM by ScorchyLive

Exporting a video with a transparent background.

lees48530094

I've been asked if it is possible to export a video from After Effects with a transparent background as an MP4 so it can be used in a web application (HTML based). My knowledge of video editing is very basic and I have no coding knowledge but I don't think this can be done. Does anyone know if it is feasible or not?

• 1. Re: Exporting a video with a transparent background.
          Mohammad.Harb MVP & Adobe Community Professional

in the render settings ( composition -> add to render Queue )

you need to select on the on the Codecs the supports RGB + ALPHA

as Quick time with PNG Codec

2016-10-10_13-26-49.png

2016-10-10_13-27-10.png

2016-10-10_13-27-35.png

• 3. Re: Exporting a video with a transparent background.
            harinathr81431544

Sir , actually I was set in a video with solid background attached to video (download from YouTube), but I can't possible to remove background and make it transparent.

How is it possible for downloaded video to Remove background like transparent.

• 4. Re: Exporting a video with a transparent background.
              Dave LaRonde Level 6

I am unsure what you want to do.

Do you want to remove the background from a video clip?

Do you want to make a video with a transparent background?

By the way, you can NOT make an mp4 file with a transparent background.  Mp4 files are not able to have transparency.  You must follow the instructions above.

• 5. Re: Exporting a video with a transparent background.
                harinathr81431544 Level 1

I want to remove background from video and make transparent background sir , how is it possible.

• 6. Re: Exporting a video with a transparent background.
                  Dave LaRonde Level 6

Show us a still from the video.  Tell us the part you want to keep.