5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2016 10:06 AM by Bob Somrak

CR2 - DNG or retain raw

Archibald the Grim

Looking through my catalogue I see CR2 files and DNG files.  The CR2 are older images.

Thinking that I should convert them to DNG I google (is that a verb nowadays?) and I see a number of sites which

suggest that converting to DNG is not such a great idea citing some loss of integrity from the original raw image.

Im a keen amateur and would be very lucky ever to sell an image unless I was very lucky so with that in mind, is there any reason not to convert my original .cr2 images into DNG.

Do the CR2 images I have adjusted get converted retaining the adjustments?

If they do, I suppose I could duplicate the adjusted image and reset 1 one them to the original and then convert that to DNG. I don't have that many that are worth the effort.

• 1. Re: CR2 - DNG or retain raw
          dj_paige Level 9

You can make the argument both ways. Some people convert, some do not. There are advantages and disadvantages. It is extra work for you at this time. If you want to read more about the advantages and disadvantages, you can use that Google thing you talked about.

Why are you doing this anyway? Why are you contemplating performing the work to convert? What is the perceived benefit in your mind?

I see a number of sites which suggest that converting to DNG is not such a great idea citing some loss of integrity from the original raw image.