6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2016 4:54 AM by Roei Tzoref

Change a color to white

BorghoutsDesign

Hi,

I'm new to AE so please bare with me.

I have a car that is white with a big logo on it. I want to remove the logo of the car.

I can't use the "change to color" effect because white isn't in the hue spectrum  and besides that it isn't a color.

I tried duplicating the movie-layer, create a mask of another white part, and placed it over the logo but that just didn't work because of the shades over the car paint.

Any ideas how to deal with this?

Thnx.

M.

• 1. Re: Change a color to white
          Roei Tzoref Adobe Community Professional

a screenshot would be helpful.

you can create a white solid on top of the car and mask it. if you need a gradient you can add the effect gradient ramp. if you want the exact texture, you can use the stamp tool in Ae, or and you could export a frame to Photoshop, create a patch, bring it back, and place it where you need to. if there's movement of the car or camera on the frame then you would also have to track it.

• 2. Re: Change a color to white
            Dave LaRonde Level 6

Roei's right -- we need to see a screen shot.  PLUS a detailed description of the lighting changes that occur over the logo area as the shot progresses.

I had to do this very same thing a few years ago.  Only on a dump truck driving out of a garage at dawn.  On bad footage.  Color temperature changes. Moving shadows.  3D Camera Tracker hadn't been thought of.  It was a real pain.

• 3. Re: Change a color to white
              BorghoutsDesign Level 1

Well actually this is the original footage.

STRASBOURG, FRANCE - CIRCA 2016: Red DPD Group Delivery Van In Center Of The City. DPD Group Is Part Of French Group La …

I want to remove the logo on the side so I can show my client how the vehicle would look with his logo on it.

I hope this can be done.

M.

• 4. Re: Change a color to white