5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2008 11:05 AM by Newsgroup_User

HELP! Need to set up ODBC!!!

Johnny_Polite
      Hello,

I am just starting to learn ASP with VBScript because I am trying to develop an online registration application to connect to a Access DB that I previously built. I am just reading through books and enjoying the learning process. I am pretty decent at VBA, so it is fun to apply that to the internet.

My big problem is that I receive this error message on the browser: Data source name not found and no default driver specified. I set up the DSN on the System tab in Administrative tools in the Control Panel. I have my sample DB placed on a server that recognizes ASP commands. Dreamweaver recognizes the connection and I can manipulate the recordsets, establish SQL statements...but when I get to the browser, it gives me the error message.

I have been learning both in FrontPage and in Dreamweaver and Front Page can connect just fine to the DB through it's internal menus. I much prefer Dreamweaver, though, and I know that when I get this connectivity issue straightened out I will start really making some progress.

I appreciate all the help in advance and if you need me to clarify anything, let me know.
        • 1. Re: HELP! Need to set up ODBC!!!
          Level 7
          What happened when you created the connection? Did you upload the
          connection file to the server? Is your testing server local IIS?

--
          Nancy Gill
          Adobe Community Expert
          Author: Dreamweaver 8 e-book for the DMX Zone
          Co-Author: Dreamweaver MX: Instant Troubleshooter (August, 2003)
          Technical Editor: Dreamweaver CS3: The Missing Manual,
          DMX 2004: The Complete Reference, DMX 2004: A Beginner's Guide
          Mastering Macromedia Contribute
          Technical Reviewer: Dynamic Dreamweaver MX/DMX: Advanced PHP Web Development

"Johnny Polite" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message