11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 24, 2016 11:18 AM by typeb

Components decisions for Sagar/Clevo 4K editing laptop

typeb Level 1

hi,

I'm a filmmaker often working and editing in Africa (otherwise I'm based in the UK) so I work from a laptop as I'm moving around so much. I've been editing on Premiere CS6 for about 5 years on a Clevo/Sagar P170HM but am shooting a lot on 4k now and need to upgrade.  I originally followed Harm Millard's guide to setting up my OS (Windows), cache etc. on different drives but I was hoping someone might be able to advise re: configuring a new machine as the tech side isn't really a strong point. 

Apologies in advance if this has been covered elsewhere but I've had a look around the forum and picked up some general points but I'm concerned about the bottlenecks specifically. The spec is based on a Clevo P670RS-G and I've opted for just about the top of all the options but from what I've been reading people are overclocking to 4.5GHz - is the processor fast enough? Also what use I should use the M.2 for, should I get a second one? Also read that M.2 shouldn't be used for assets, just OS so should I keep the 750GB for previews etc.?  I keep all footage on external USB3 hard drives so all internal drives would just be to keep things running fast.

Thanks for your help.

Toby

17.3" Matte Full HD IPS LED Widescreen (1920x1080)

Processor (CPU) Intel® Core™ i7 Quad Core Processor 6820HK (2.7GHz, 3.6GHz Turbo)

Overclocked CPU Overclock the Intel® Core™ i7-6820HK with speeds up to 3.7GHz

Memory (RAM) 64GB HyperX IMPACT 2133MHz SODIMM DDR4 (4 x 16GB)

Graphics Card NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 1070 - 8.0GB GDDR5 Video RAM - DirectX® 12.1, G-SYNC

M.2 SSD 512GB Intel 600p NVMe PCIe (up to 1775MB/sR | 560MB/sW)

750GB WD BLACK 2.5" WD7500BPKX, SATA 6 Gb/s, 16MB CACHE (7200 rpm)

Thermal Paste ARCTIC MX-4 EXTREME THERMAL CONDUCTIVITY COMPOUND

• 1. Re: Components decisions for Sagar/Clevo 4K editing laptop
          RoninEdits Most Valuable Participant