15 Replies Latest reply on Oct 27, 2016 8:49 AM by Obi-wan Kenobi

Setting Table Column Widths for particular Table Styles

paulb22558018

I'll start by saying that I'm new to both inDesign and to scripting. I've learned a lot in the last few weeks of muddling though on my own and have almost everything I need in place for inDesign to be a very effective tool for my purposes. However, there is one thing that has been driving me crazy for about two weeks.

For the document that I'm working I have created several different Table Styles set at several different indenture levels. I will be using this document as a baseline. Meaning that I will repeat this document over and over again with minor tweaks to each new usage. These documents will then be combined into a larger book. All of the Table Styles will be repeated very often and I would like them all to be consistent throughout. As there is no way to set a column width in the Table Styles panel, I would like to have a script that will automatically size the columns for each specific Table Style.

Easier said than done, I'm afraid.

I've managed to piece together the below script from several searches on this and other forums. I may have things in there that I don't need, or that could be handled in a more effective manner. I'm open to suggestions on how to improve. Currently this script will maintain the Table Style that is set in inDesign and it will resize the columns. However, each new set of parameters overrides the previous one. I know I'm close. I may have taken a round-about way to get there, but I'm close. I just need a little help for the final stretch. I am truly grateful for any assistance that you can provide.

Thanks,

Paul

• 1. Re: Setting Table Column Widths for particular Table Styles
          SJRiegel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I don't script, so I can't tell what your code it doing, but you might find the script that is linked in this discussion useful

Re: column width in cell specs