3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 29, 2016 11:38 AM by Rick Gerard

Quote about cartoon for a music videoclip

slam629

For the first time a band has commissioned me a cartoon for a music video.

I'm a graphic designer and comics artist and it's the first time someone commissions me a cartoon, until now I've done some GIF in Photoshop and I'm taking the first steps with After Effects.

I would to ask you which animation software you advice me to use and where I can find good tutorial / tips n tricks

And which price is fair for this work ?

• 1. Re: Quote about cartoon for a music videoclip
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Have you seen Adobe Character Animator yet?

CC Animate, Character Animator, and After Effects are all good animation tools, but which to use is rather dependent on how you want it to look. Heck, a lot of folks are doing animation with Cinema 4D, but shading it like it's 2d animation.

As far as what a fair price is, that depends on the length of the video and what sort of content they're asking for. Primarily it depends on how much time it's going to take you to make it and what you charge per hour.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Quote about cartoon for a music videoclip
            slam629 Level 1

You said software choice depends on how you want it to look, can you tell me examples about which style/genre is best for Animate, Character Animator, and After Effects ? Until now I've just used After Effects.

About the price nothing has chosen until now, the song lasts 5:47

• 3. Re: Quote about cartoon for a music videoclip
              Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP