7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 31, 2016 1:35 PM by LN66

Import does not preserve folderstructure

LN66

Hi,

I've been using lightroom for several years and am now working with LR6.

My usual workflow for importing is to first copy the files from the camera to my harddrive outside of Lightroom. I work on Windows 10.

My folder structure is simple:

Pictures (not the standard windows one)

YEAR

DATE Event

Once the pictures are stored on disk I launch Lightroom and import from disk by browsing to the newly added event folder. The new folder would then position itself under the YEAR and mimic the folder structure disk. It would look as follows.

This has always worked out fine. Recently I tried importing from the camera directly and the first time I actually liked it. The second time it did not work out at all and I had to cancel it. I have tried a few more times and it simply does not work.

My problem is now that as I revert to my usual import strategy it does not work as before. The "DATE Event" now ends up as a sibling to (on the same level as) the YEAR folder as follows:

If I try to move the folder into 2016,  LR informs med it can't since the folder already exists.

Hopefully this is just some setting that has been changed accidentally or as the import from camera failed BUT I fail to find what it should be.

As I import I have the Include subfolders marked.

My workaround for this is now to do as follows:

1) Copy from camera to the harddrive BUT outside my normal structure

2) Import the folders and get them on the root of the library

3) Move the folders inside lightroom

This is very tedious.

Any help is appreciated

/Leif

• 1. Re: Import does not preserve folderstructure
          Bob Somrak Level 6

Use the ADD option when you import instead of COPY or MOVE

• 2. Re: Import does not preserve folderstructure
            bhousto90 Level 4