12 Replies Latest reply on Nov 1, 2016 11:14 AM by Rick Gerard

Controlling the scale of a shape layer using slider control and expressions.

mervinj71373917

Hi everyone im fairly new to AE and im trying to get this sorted if anyone can provide any help.

Basically I have two keyframes on the scale property of a shape layer. The first keyframe is at 0% and the second is at 15%. Id like to control the second keyframe

using a slider.. Can anyone point me in the right direction please. Thanks

• 1. Re: Controlling the scale of a shape layer using slider control and expressions.
          Roei Tzoref Adobe Community Professional

add a slider control to your layer from the effects & presets panel. alt click on the stopwatch for the scale property and type this:

x2 = effect("Slider Control")("Slider");

x = linear(time,key(1).time,key(2).time,key(1).value[0],x2);

[x,x]

• 2. Re: Controlling the scale of a shape layer using slider control and expressions.
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Roei has given you an expression that requires two keyframes and uses the slider to modify the value of the second keyframe.

My question is, what are you trying to do?  There are a few reasons to use a slider or other expressions control instead of just setting keyframes. If you use the solution provided setting a keyframe for the slider will have no effect and you will still need 3 keyframes for scale. If all you want to do is animate the slider to control the opacity then a much simpler expression would do the trick. Just declare s as a variable by typing s= and then drag the picwhip from the scale property of the shape layer to the value of the expressions slider then add a semicolon (;) and press return, then finish the  expression by creating an array by simply typing [s, s] and you're done.

Now you can animate the scale by simply keep framing the slider.