10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2008 10:57 AM by clbeech

Flash Calculations

sambrown180
      Sorry I am new to flash and struggling to work out how to calculate prices.

I have set each of my products a variable price with actionscript 1.0 & 2.0 using the code
      var pricewalkers = 0.50;
      var pricehulahoops = 0.50;
      var pricepastels = 0.50;
      var pricesmarties = 0.45;
      var pricepolos = 0.50;
      I now need to be able to click on the image (which has been converted to a button) and the price appears in a seperate box in the same frame(not sure where this would appear so any ideas on this would be appreciated as well)

Idealy i would like the price to be multiplied each time the image/button is clicked (released)

Could you please help with what code is needed for each button and where the price would appear and if possible a code to add up the price when multiple clicks occur.

Thank you for your help Sam
        • 1. Re: Flash Calculations
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          Create some textfields and give them instance names (ex: walkersTxt).

Create some variables to associate with each textfield (ex: var walkersTotal = 0;)

Assign instance names to your image-btns (ex: walkersBtn)

Here's some code for a button using the examples I offered:

walkersBtn.onRelease = function(){
          walkersTotal += pricewalkers;
          walkersTxt.text = String(walkersTotal);
          }

This code would be placed in the same place as your other code.
          • 2. Flash Calculations
            clbeech Level 3
            to 'show' the price, you will need to place a 'textField' on the stage near the item, this is where you would show the current cost. the textfield should be a 'dynamic' type field, this means that you can 'assign' the text within the field during run-time. each time a button is pressed you then calculate the 'new' total using something like this:

var walkerQty = 0;