29 Replies Latest reply on Sep 27, 2018 7:30 AM by JoãoCésar

Creating a counting up total in Animate

oxfordalumni

I'm still relatively new to using Animate (and particularly the action coding).  I want to create a counting up total, like this one CountUp.js

I've tried to create it using the code below but it either comes up with the total number and nothing else, or an error message "#1120: Access of undefined property countUp", any help would be much appreciated!!

var countUpInc:Number = 6429;

var totalSecs = 304709;

var countUp = totalSecs;

counter.text = countUp;

var time:Timer = new Timer(countUpInc * 1000);

time.addEventListener(TimerEvent.TIMER, tick);

function tick(e:TimerEvent):void {

if(CountUp == 304709) {

trace("count up complete");

time.stop();

countUp = totalSecs;

} else {

countUp = countUp + countUpInc;

counter.text = countUp;

}

}

• 1. Re: Creating a counting up total in Animate
          JosephLabrecque Adobe Community Professional

Hello. Use the following code:

var countUpInc:int = 100;

var totalSecs:int = 30000;

var countUp = 0;

var countTimer:Timer = new Timer(countUpInc);

countTimer.addEventListener(TimerEvent.TIMER, timerHandler);

countTimer.start();

function timerHandler(e:TimerEvent): void {

if (countUp == 304709) {

countTimer.stop();

countUp = totalSecs;

} else {

counter.text = countUp;

}

}

Note that your initial capitalization of "CountUp" was causing an error and you must have a dynamic textfield on the stage with an instance name of "counter". I also modified some of your variables for clarity.

• 2. Re: Creating a counting up total in Animate
            oxfordalumni Level 1

Thank you so much Joseph that works perfectly!

I have one question, is there a way to make the numbers tick by faster, I wanted it to tick up to the final number within 2 seconds?

Thanks again for all your help.

• 3. Re: Creating a counting up total in Animate
              JosephLabrecque Adobe Community Professional