• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Renaming and Searching Problems

New Here ,
Nov 16, 2016 Nov 16, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm looking for a few suggestions on renaming and searching in Lightroom. Let me explain...

I'm primarily a wedding photographer. When I finish the batch of wedding photos, I have recently started renaming the photos so that they're titled with the couples names, as well as the new chronological numbering system based on the final files. I use the "sequence" option for renaming. I type in their names, then start the sequence at "1."

For example, the new file names might look like: Kerri and Daniel-1.CR2, Kerri and Daniel-2.CR2, and so on.

So that's all good and fine, until we move forward.

When I deliver the files, I often request to hear back from the couples on the "top favorites" for their wedding album. They will then send me a list that looks something like this:  1, 23, 31, 49, 56, 98, 123, 141, 187, 189, 198, 206, 212, 223, 227, 243, 271, 224, 297, 302, 09, 316, 326, 337, 368, 395, 401, 442, 443, 465, 467, 469, 479, 492, 508, 579, 597, 618, 627

The problem now occurs when I'm back in Lightroom and trying to search for their list. If I paste that list into Lightroom's search field and select "Contains All," I it finds MANY more photos than just the ones on the list. Reason being, if its looking for "1," it will also show me "101" and "110." If its searching for 23, it will also show me 230. Etc.

Any suggestions here??

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Nov 17, 2016 Nov 17, 2016

Lightroom does not allow me to preface the sequencing with a zero. So if I'm starting a sequence of renaming, I'm unable to use "001." Instead, I'm only allowed to use "1."