4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2016 9:26 AM by finnandme

This Made Such A Difference! (Add Camera Controls)

finnandme Level 1

I've been trying to improve the eye tracking... it always seemed to be hit-and-miss. It would be ok one minute and then it would change. I tried various options and after making many adjustments to the Behaviours, I still couldn't get a constant and satisfactory result.

I read the User Manual and found this advice... move closer to the camera and ensure there is good light

Although this is good advice, it may not always be the best option!?

I've been a keen photographer for quite awhile and the improvement in technology in this field has been staggering! All digital camera and phone cameras, have built in Zoom and Exposure facilities. So, if there was a Zoom and Exposure option as part of the Camera feature in Ch...  you could reverse the suggestion of, getting closer and shinning a light in your face, and zoom in and adjust the exposure... from my initial test, I think this would help greatly.

When you think that Adobe's development has been/is based on image manipulation, then you can only assume that Adobe must have virtual boxes stuffed with Zoom and Exposure app/routines that could easily be incorporated into the Camera feature in Character Animator.

Character Animator is based around the Camera and Face Tracking, so  you would think that the internal Camera's control would be paramount!?

I found an app called, iGlasses and this is software that controls the built in camera. It has the basic feature such as Zoom and Exposure, but a lot more too!

When I used this, and this was a simple matter of selecting the next camera, I made the basic  adjustments of zoom and exposure and the results were amazing. The pupils seemed to be following the tracking a whole let better, even with just using one eye!

I would suggest that Adobe, if it hasn't already done so, looks into incorporating camera controls into Character Animator asap!