4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 7, 2008 9:24 AM by Michael Borbor

Gluing MXML databinding together

Daniel Freeman Level 1
      I'm an experienced programmer, and AS3 developer. Occasionally, I try to acquire more MXML conjuring tricks. Right now I'm stuck on something trivial. (Easy to solve in ActionScript, but what's the MXML way?)

I just want two DataGrids, so that one GataGrid just copies the values in the other. The problem I'm having is that values (output) method yields an array of objects, and the databind method seems to expect a simple array. So how do I glue them together without resorting to ActionScript? I want to link a DataGrid to a chart in the same way.
        • 1. Re: Gluing MXML databinding together
          Michael Borbor Level 4
          if you could post what's the structure of the array would be great.
          • 2. Re: Gluing MXML databinding together
            Daniel Freeman Level 1
            I mean like this, but instead of {mydata.value} write something that glues the DataGrids together.

• 3. Re: Gluing MXML databinding together
              Level 7

"Daniel Freeman" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
              news:ghg2g2$o6e$1@forums.macromedia.com...
              > I'm an experienced programmer, and AS3 developer. Occasionally, I try to
              > acquire more MXML conjuring tricks. Right now I'm stuck on something
              > trivial.
              > (Easy to solve in ActionScript, but what's the MXML way?)
              >
              > I just want two DataGrids, so that one GataGrid just copies the values in
              > the
              > other. The problem I'm having is that values (output) method yields an
              > array
              > of objects, and the databind method seems to expect a simple array. So
              > how do
              > I glue them together without resorting to ActionScript? I want to link a
              > DataGrid to a chart in the same way.