4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2008 6:28 PM by renatomoya

Help w/ clicking on leaves of tree node

999haliu
      Hello,

I am fairly new to Flex and coding in general, so please bare with me if my problems seems like a trivial one.

I am trying to create a tree list, where the contents of the tree are actually links. For example, the top level of the tree node would be a category (companies), and the leaves of the tree would be the company names. In addition, I would like the user to be taken, in a new browser window, to a URL specified in the XML list when clicking on a company name.

I am having problems resolving the click actions in the app. I can get the app to open and close the nodes of the tree cleanly, but when I try to add some code to take the user to a URL when clicking on a company name (leaf), I get errors.

I am really stuck on how to read the click event in the tree list, run to the associated XML file to find the URL, then open up a new browser page to that URL.

Can someone help me please? I've added a snippet of code to review.

Thank you in advance!
        • 1. Re: Help w/ clicking on leaves of tree node
          Level 7

"hokudan" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:ghjqdk$i7n$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          > Hello,
          >
          > I am fairly new to Flex and coding in general, so please bare with me if
          > my
          > problems seems like a trivial one.
          >
          > I am trying to create a tree list, where the contents of the tree are
          > actually
          > links. For example, the top level of the tree node would be a category
          > (companies), and the leaves of the tree would be the company names. In
          > addition, I would like the user to be taken, in a new browser window, to a
          > URL
          > specified in the XML list when clicking on a company name.
          >