4 Replies Latest reply on Nov 26, 2016 8:22 AM by gregoryp17816542

Lightroom Saving multiple catalogues and taking up loads of data

gregoryp17816542

Hi all.

I was recently cleaning up the hard drive on my Mac and looked at the large files that were taking up the most space.

Much to my surprise, I have a lot (in excess of 30) Lightroom catalogues spanning back to the beginning of last year and most of them are well over 500mb in size. Has anyone else had this previously or know why it is happening. I am unsure about deleting any as I am no Lightroom expert by any stretch and am scared of deleting all my adjustment data.

I want to get rid of the stuff I do not need to clean up my drives but I need to be sure I am not going to do anything drastic that loses important data.

Any help in achieving this and understanding the problem would be much appreciated.

Best regards and thanks for looking.

Greg

• 1. Re: Lightroom Saving multiple catalogues and taking up loads of data
          Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

What file extension do these files have? .lrcat or .lrcat.zip?

With either, depending on what version of LR you are using, they could be Backups of your main catalog file. By Default LR is set to create a backup of the catalog file once a week. If you don't clear out the older ones they can add up, depending on the original size of your catalog file.

With LR 5 and previous versions the backups were just copies of your catalog. With LR 6/CC Adobe started creating Zip compressed files for the backups. In either case only delete the older ones and keep the 2 or 3 newest ones.

I also suggest you set LR to place the backups on some other drive connected to your system, like an external drive you use for backing up your system, or to a networked drive, if you have one.

Having backups of anything on the same drive as the original files does you no good if that drive fails, Everything is gone at that point.