6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2016 8:23 PM by checkly11

Getting comps to play together?

checkly11

Hello,

I'm new with Ae and just experimenting with it. I am currently working with a template that has 5 comps where all I did was edit the text, and now I just want to export all the comps at once to have them play in sequence (one right behind the other) instead of separately. I searched through the threads but still not clear on this. Is it possible or do need a separate program to do this or something? Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Getting comps to play together?
          Roei Tzoref Adobe Community Professional

so you want to edit your comps together as a sequence and render them out? select all the comps you want in the project panel by the order you wish them follow each other and right click and choose "new comp from selection".  in the window put a check mark under sequence layers. now render this comp.

• 2. Re: Getting comps to play together?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

About 99% of all new users to AE think it's an editing app. It's not. AE is designed for shots and short sequences. Most of the professionals that I have worked with over the last 20+ years that use AE create comps that are basically effects on a single shot that you can't achieve in a Non Linear Editor. I don't know any pro that edits a film - what you are doing is making a film, in AE. If you really need to string 5 comps together then Roei's technique will work just fine. It will just take a long time to render and you won't be able to preview the string of 5 comps unless the entire new comp is only a few seconds long. Most of my comps are 7 seconds or less. Only a few contain sequences that are longer than that. My sequences are usually limited to a single sentence of copy, a single phrase of music, or a single graphical idea.