5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2016 7:22 AM by thedigitaldog

DCI-P3 on Mac

jamesa28796448 Level 1

Hello, I've got the brand new UltraFine display which is supposed to display DCI-P3.

I'm just trying to compare pictures exported in DCI-P3 and sRGB and RGB and I can't find no difference. I don't know what's wrong.

I'm pretty new to this so help would be really appreciated. By the way, shooting on D5100

sRGB

sRGB.jpg

Display P3

DSC_0241.jpg

RGB

DSC_0241 (1).jpg

• 2. Re: DCI-P3 on Mac
          jamesa28796448 Level 1

Hello,

Thanks for your reply.

Done the same process, they still look exactly the same

• 3. Re: DCI-P3 on Mac
            thedigitaldog MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Convert a copy of my image to sRGB and compare.

• 4. Re: DCI-P3 on Mac
              D Fosse Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It's not really about sRGB vs DCI-P3. It's about color management vs no color management.

One could ask why Apple decided to push a standard for digital cinema projectors - especially since the practical implications are the same as for traditional wide gamut displays: they are simply not usable without full end-to-end color management. As long as you have that, the exact shape of the display color space is of less importance.

Still, it may turn out to be a good thing, because it will force a wider implementation of color management. It has to. Buyers of traditional wide gamut displays generally know what they're getting into. They have made a conscious choice, and configure their systems accordingly. They know they have to use a color managed web browser with these units.

An iMac buyer is a different kettle of fish. They haven't made this choice, and they expect the thing to "just work".