10 Replies Latest reply on Dec 9, 2016 1:32 PM by Amidos

WebGL on Android Lollipop

Amidos

Hello everyone,

Its my first time to use phonegap and first time to post here. I spent the last 2 days trying to know why my game is slow on my Nexus 10 tablet but I couldn't know. Then suddenly I ran my game in Chrome and it was super fast so I googled more and I find out that PhoneGap on my Nexus is rendering in CANVAS mode instead of WebGL. My Android is 5.1.1 (its not that old). Any help how to fix that? Also same happens with my iPad mini 1 although it has iOS 9.

Any help?

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: WebGL on Android Lollipop
          kerrishotts Adobe Community Professional

Are you using a gaming framework?

• 2. Re: WebGL on Android Lollipop
            Amidos Level 1

Yup using Phaser which is based on PIXI but forcing to WebGL, it work well with newer phones but on lollipop and iOS 9 both runs on CANVAS if I switch to Auto and if force to WEBGL it won't work and crash on these devices

• 3. Re: WebGL on Android Lollipop

Given that this is a third-party framework, I'm not sure how much this forum can be of help. You might want to ask over on the Phaser forums why Lollipop/iOS 9 isn't using WebGL.

BUT, given that you say it crashes if you force WebGL, there may be a very good reason that Phaser doesn't switch to WebGL automatically. There's lots of buggy implementations out there, and in many cases it may even depend on your Android device manufacturer (drivers, etc.).

Do make sure that:

1. You are using WKWebView for iOS (modern, 3x JS speed, WebGL support)
              2. You are using Crosswalk for Android (modern, consistent environment)

If you aren't sure if you're using the above, please share your config.xml (minus identifying/secret information), and we can take a look at the plugin list.

• 4. Re: WebGL on Android Lollipop
                Amidos Level 1

I force it to use WebGL and PhoneGap throw an error that the Webview doesn't support WebGL.