17 Replies Latest reply on May 24, 2006 11:58 AM by Ned_Wright

JPEG Vs PNG

nardove
      hi there, here is a question i have but first i want to apologise for my writting im still learning english

ok here it is, hoping that some one who can backup his/her answer read this

if every time i use png results in small file size WHY do i want to use jpeg instead?

im using flash mx 2004

thanks you very much
        • 1. Re: JPEG Vs PNG
          Level 7
          nardove,

> if every time i use png results in small file size WHY do i want
          > to use jpeg instead?

Personally, I try to keep my imported images lossless. I tend to use
          BMP unless I need transparency, in which case I used PNG. This allows me to
          adjust my publish settings in Flash to decide how "heavy" to make my SWF
          file.

If you use a highly compressed JPG in your FLA file, you must re-create
          the JPG if you decide the image is too compressed. If you use a BMP or PNG,
          you can leave such images as-is.

David
          stiller (at) quip (dot) net
          Dev essays: http://www.quip.net/blog/
          "Luck is the residue of good design."

• 2. Re: JPEG Vs PNG
            nardove Level 1
            that is another reason to why to boder using jpegs

thanks david
            • 3. Re: JPEG Vs PNG
              2m Level 2
              As usual I only add to a thread that David has taken part in to contadict him.

(I only do this because normaly his answers are so good I just sit there, adore him, and keep my mouth shut. But on very rare occasions I have to add something. ;-) )

I almost always use jpegs for photographic images, and wont flash have them recompress. For other (drawing) images, i use png and lossless compression mostly.