10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 4, 2009 1:51 PM by Rachel_M_Garrett

Corporate metrics dashboard - need advice on data source

Rachel_M_Garrett
      Hi. I'm new to Flex, but about 1/3 of the way through the "Flex in a week" tutorials. I'd like to describe what I'm trying to use Flex for, and then get back some advice on whether it's doable.

Our department has various metrics. There are multiple sources of data (SAP, data warehouses, Access databases, Excel spreadsheets), but everything eventually ends up in Excel. I've been asked to create a new dashboard, specifically for our department. I already know I could write enough VBA/formula "plumbing" to do the job.

But I'd rather do it in Flex, for a couple reasons. One, Flex applications are so darn pretty! Two, even when I teach people about PivotTables and PivotCharts, that kind of data analysis is just not as intuitive as the interactivity you can get with Flex. Three, I want to push for more better information management (consolidate and integrate, rather than spawning new metrics and data sources ad hoc), and people are going to find that project easier to swallow if I'm bringing them a shiny, interactive web application along with it.

We have Excel 2003, so using Excel Services (2007) is not an option. But I am wondering whether, if I took each spreadsheet and used the "Publish to Web" option, selecting XML as the format, whether Flex could consume that like a web service. I've looked at XML docs before, messed with InfoPath some, but never actually created XML schemas or anything. So the path from "what I'm looking at on a spreadsheet" to "what I want to see in my Flex application" is very fuzzy to me. I'd really like to hear advice from people who have solved similar problems.

Thank you!
        • 1. Re: Corporate metrics dashboard - need advice on data source
          Level 7

"Rachel_M_Garrett" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:gjc968$rta$1@forums.macromedia.com...