7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 4, 2017 6:15 AM by A. Patterson

registrer action plug-in of illustrator

hong kiemp34358061

hi All!

i'm a newbie on illustrator, i read the Illustrator CS6 Programmer's Guide, at pages 27 - Action plug-ins introduce registering action plug-ins events with Tutorial example, but i don't see any Action events showed in action panel. so someone can help me. Thanks!

• 1. Re: registrer action plug-in of illustrator
          A. Patterson Level 4

Actions only show in the panel after they've been recorded. You need to register your action and when your plugin is fired, check if recording is on (AIActionManagerSuite::InRecordMode). If so, you record your action using the AIActionManagerSuite. Then you just listen to the caller/selector that indicates AI wants you to play it back, and you unroll the parameters using the same suite and perform your operation.

• 2. Re: registrer action plug-in of illustrator
            hong kiemp34358061 Level 1

thank you, A. Patterson! I did it as your guide, but not get any action. cause is in addAction function do not finish to register action event. you can give an example to me ? thanks so much

• 3. Re: registrer action plug-in of illustrator
              A. Patterson Level 4

During start up, you need register the action like so (rough code):

AIActionParamTypeRef actionParameters = 0;
              AIErr error = sAIActionManager->AINewActionParamType(&actionParameters);

// add parameters using AIActionSetType
              // register action with RegisterActionEvent & actionParameters

// clean up when done
              sAIActionManager->AIDeleteActionParamType(actionParameters);

Next, when you are about to execute the functionality you described when you registered the action, you check to see if the user is recording:

if (sAIActionManager->InRecordMode()) {
                   AIActionParamValueRef valueBlock;