15 Replies Latest reply on Dec 27, 2008 11:47 AM by Newsgroup_User

Cell animation basics

tansle
      Hi All:

I am completely new to Flash and to animating generally. But I understand some of the underlying basics. I have created and scanned a series of drawings on acetate creating a Christmas card with a chicken and an egg. I don't think I need to tween - just need to go from one layer to the next! I have tried 3 times now to import each cell into a separate layer and to create a rough animation using the timeline and keyframes. I have read several online tutorials and purchased a used Teach Yourself Flash 8 primer.
      But I cannot get anything to work, i.e. cells don't seem to line up, can't see them animate using the Play Handle. None of my sources will explain to me exactly how to manipulate the timeline for my purposes nor how to deal with layers such as mine (already produced offline and lined up pixel to pixel in PS, etc).

Can someone please recommend a free online tutorial which explains animating cells - but also starts from the beginning - do this, then do that?

Thanks!

Using Flash 8 Pro.
        • 1. Re: Cell animation basics
          Level 7
          tansle,

> I have created and scanned a series of drawings on acetate
          > creating a Christmas card with a chicken and an egg. I don't
          > think I need to tween - just need to go from one layer to the
          > next!

You mention acetate, so I assume that some of your artwork has
          transparent areas. For example, you might have a completely opaque
          background, then a series of acetates with the chicken and another series of
          acetates with the egg. If that assumption is right, you'll be using two
          axes here: a) vertical axis (layers in the Timeline panel) for your
          overlapping artwork and b) horizontal axis (frames along your timeline).

You might put your background in Layer 1, which you can renamed to