• EspaƱol
      • FranƧais
      • PortuguĆŖs
  • ę—„ęœ¬čŖžć‚³ćƒŸćƒ„ćƒ‹ćƒ†ć‚£
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • ķ•œźµ­ ģ»¤ė®¤ė‹ˆķ‹°
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom unable to backup catalog: check permissions.

New Here ,
Dec 30, 2016 Dec 30, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Just recently Lightroom has been unable to back up my catalog. Exact message: "Please check your folder permissions, and make sure that you have available space on  your backup drive and main catalog's drive."

Now I realize that there are many similar questions on the forum; however, I was unable to find an answer that worked for me.

My laptop runs on Window's 10, and I have Lightroom CC (2015). This began to happen after I believe to be the last update, as well as after I went on to delete old backups. It is not the first time I have deleted old catalog backups, so I cannot see how this would be an issue; nonetheless, I'm not an expert...

I have tried checking the permissions of my folder and it seems to be stuck on read only. I can't change it, I've tried modifying the folder's as well as the folder the backup folder sits in's permissions to "everyone,"  but it did not seem to help. I am not really familiar with this sort of stuff and basically followed tutorials I saw online, so basically, maybe I did something wrong, I don't know.

I have also tried backing up my catalog to a complete different location and it did not work. I had the same problems.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 31, 2016 Dec 31, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There's no need to give write access to 'Everyone'. Simply add write access or even better 'Full' access for the account (your account) you are usually logged in with.