4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2017 3:57 PM by johnrellis

Help please on metadata conflicts and changed capture times

niallc13515824

HI, I am hoping for some help with a worrying problem for me with widespread metadata conflicts reported in my catalog and also some photos showing changed and incorrect capture times.

In my approx 27,000 photos I have a mix of mainly RAW and JPG and some other formats. Looking at just the jpgs, I seem to have most of them with a metadata conflict and a smaller number with a report of "metadata was changed externally". I have been using LR for many years and have had occasional issues like this on a much smaller scale and have used "resolve conflict" to resolve. However I haven't previously had such a widescale issue before.

The other particular problem that really troubles me about using "resolve conflict" is that at the same time as the metadata conflicts, I have noticed that a small number of photos have incorrect capture times. In particular I have several hundred jpgs from approx 20 years ago. Most of these are showing identical capture dates of 22 Nov 2014 in LR. They are also showing a mix of metadata conflict and updates externally reports. When I look at the files in windows explorer the correct capture times are showing, however the files are all showing "date modified" as 22 Nov 2014.

Going back to LR and looking at the jpgs with incorrect capture dates/times, the correct details available in Windows do not seem to be visible in LR - LR does not have an entry against Capture Time/Date in the metadata panel although it shows 22 Nov 2014 in grid view.  I have tried sorting all the images in LR by capture time and LR treats the problem jpgs as if LR has the correct capture dates despite still showing the capture date/time in grid view as 22 Nov 2014.