4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 5, 2017 6:41 AM by Foamboard

How to:  retro style lo-fi graphics

Foamboard

Hi all…

I'm a bit of a newbie in after effects so my apologies right off the bat if this is a simple/dumb question…

How would I go about achieving the effects found in this music video? I am particularly interested in the white star graphic on the left side of the screen and the multicolor outline of the subject on the right side of the screen at 3:33 into the video.  Here is the link…

The Asteroids Galaxy Tour - Around The Bend - YouTube

Thanks!!

Shawn

• 1. Re: How to:  retro style lo-fi graphics
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are dozens of effects in your sample. It would take a week to outline the steps required for all of them. Most are simply repeated graphics (shape layers), echo, and channel effects. None of them are one click wonders. They all require some procedure.

The first step in breaking down an effect is to analyze the frame and see what is going on. Here's the frame:

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 8.11.46 PM.png

The most obvious is that the actor is cut out of the background. The second is that there are different color channels trailing behind the actor as he moves. The third is the repeating star, the fourth is the vertical lines. The edges of the star and the vertical lines are interacting so there are some blend modes going on. Here's how I would start:

1. Key out the actor or rotoscope (depends on how the footage was shot) and put that on the top layer
          2. Make a duplicate copy of the actor only layer and experiment use shift channels to isolate the RGB colors so you only have one color on the layer (colorama would also be an interesting thing to try)
          3. Duplicate the copy two more times and set to the other colors
          4. You might even want to experiment with the echo effect
          5. Move on to the star layer when you are close to being done with the actor