18 Replies Latest reply on Oct 10, 2008 8:11 PM by John Hall

Communication Throughout Application and Components

Gregory Lafrance Level 6
      Up to now my experience with Flex/AIR has been mostly small programs, studying Flex/AIR, and the joy of contributing to this forum.

I'm now in the middle of developing my first "real" Flex/AIR app, in that it is tied to a quarterly goal, and over time others in my department will actually use it.

I've broken the app into several MXML components, and there are components that use components, that use components (several levels of nested components).

As you might imagine, sometimes these components need to reference variables/functions in other components, or in the main app, and I think I've done fairly well, based on my limited experience with this sort of thing (I'm not a programmer by trade, but I seem to fairly sharp ???), but I can't help think things are too tightly coupled.

Should I be trying to push the limit in communicating between the app and the components and among the components using only events, often custom events, entirely if possible?

I know practice makes perfect, or well, you know..., but I want to "do it right" as much as possible now.

Thanks very much!!!
      Greg
        • 1. Re: Communication Throughout Application and Components
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          Reading your post I think: PureMVC. Its core is all about decoupling. Great for the job you are doing.
          • 2. Communication Throughout Application and Components
            g-s-b Level 1

An "Application Framework" is what you need.
            There are many in Flex including PureMVC, Cairngorm and others.
            I found one seemingly unique in the Flex world, Mate: a "tag based" framework.

Within Mate you can implement many design patterns, not just MVC; one of which is sure to meet your application needs and programming style.

Mate Link: http://mate.asfusion.com/

About Mate: http://mate.jottit.com/