Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

To move files and folders

Community Beginner ,
Jan 18, 2017 Jan 18, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I would like to move files and folders to different locations. I am a novice to this scripting. It would be much appreciated if someone could help me exploring how to move files to different locations.

For example

Existing location: This is where files to be picked

X:\qa\Team\Saravanan\Reports

New location: This is where files to be placed

X:\qa\Team\Saravanan\mergefiles\Temp

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

LEGEND , Jan 18, 2017 Jan 18, 2017

If you want to move content of Reports folder (incl. all subfoldrs with their content and deeper):

(txt = File('~/Desktop/move.txt')).open('w')

txt.write('move ' + (src=(src='X:\\qa\\team\\Saravanan' )

+ '\\Reports ')  + src + '\\mergefiles\\temp')

txt.close(), txt.rename('move.bat');

(txt = File(txt.fullName.replace(/txt/, 'bat'))).execute()

bol = false; while (!bol) {

if (bol = !Folder(SRC).exists) txt.remove(), Folder(SRC).create()

}

Or you may use shorter version:

system('move ' + (src=(

Votes

Translate

Translate
Enthusiast , Nov 01, 2023 Nov 01, 2023

Yup just had to sleep on it. Photoshop has the app method "system". Sends Terminal commands on Mac, Command Prompt on Windows. So a few tweaks. One thing different is you don't pass file objects. Instead just String objects of the full paths. And now the destination includes the file name, not just the folder. An added benefit of this difference is that the file can be renamed when moved. If not just have the same name in the "to" argument, as my example call at top shows. Also this won't deal w

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard