10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2008 7:01 AM by Peter Lorent

Flex Organization with Flash assets

jeffreypritchard Level 1
      Hi,

I've been trying to utilize the Flash Component Kit, and integrate Flash CS3 assets (swc files) into a Flex application, but the organization of my assets is proving to be quite difficult. I've read through some of the other posts, and have gleaned some very useful information to get me further along, but I have a couple of questions that are probably pretty simple to answer, but I'm having a hard time getting the answers to. I am a Flex noob.

About the project:

I have a Flash CS3 (.fla) file that contains many symbols linked to .as files (classes). There are over a hundred of them, and their code is organized neatly into packages. My question is about the organization of the flash content in my Flex project (those converted to a flex symbols). Should I be breaking out the symbols into their own .fla files, so I'm only maintaining one symbol per swc ?

Also, when you compile the .fla file after converting the symbol to a Flex component, do all the symbols you have converted in that .fla get exported again or is it a one at a time type deal (which I suspect is the case).

And what about the packages ? I'd like to be able to edit component's class files through the FlexIDE, (understanding of course that the symbol in the .fla has to be re-converted to a Flex Component and the library path has to be refreshed to accept the changes).

So far I have found the way to add a folder to the lib folder and link the files, instead of importing them, but I'm not sure if his is correct or not. If I import them, now I have a copy of the files, but because they don't reside in the correct package, they become disconnected from the symbol in Flash. AHHHHHHHH!