3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 30, 2008 8:19 AM by Kathy_OCNC

Help with the basics of setting up permissions for one page

kfildes
      I am just beginning to explore Contribute (I have been a Dreamweaver user for years) and am in need of a way to provide different users access to updating different pages of one of my sites. I tried to add a role that give one of my users access to a single page within the web site, but it seems to only allow folder permission. I also am somewhat concerned about the connection key ... does this email the user my administrative access information? I don't see anywhere that I am setting up a user/password for them. I would be concerned about sending admin information to a user who should only access and change the one page.

I tried to get book on Contribute with no luck and have already gone through the built in tutorial. Anyone have a better suggestion for me to look for the basics? Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Help with the basics of setting up permissions for one page
          Darkwater234
          I'm going to say up front that I don't know Contribute real well, so I might be wrong. But, I'll tell you what (I think) I know. :)

The permissions in Contribute (without the publishing server; don't remember if there's more control with the server piece) are pretty limited. Maybe you can add tags to pages to limit access? Not sure. Another thing you can do (and probably should do) is setup an FTP account for the user on your server. With FTP, you can set permissions per folder, per file and per user. When Contribute tries to publish something for that user, it would generate an FTP error.