2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2017 9:30 AM by biddenback

Used swatch names on art board

biddenback

*Disclaimer - I'm new to scripting. First timer, here.

Let me explain what I do.

I take artwork files and place them on an illustrator template. What we've been doing in the past was manually creating a text box and typing in the file name and the colors used in the document. We print in color separation, so I change the file name to [Registration] and each of the colors used to their color so that each plate that is printed is properly labeled.

Recently I wrote a script to automatically insert the file name in registration. Saves us a lot of time and cuts down on errors. I've been trying to alter my script so that it includes the name of the colors used in the placed files and changes the text to the correct color but I've hit a few snags.

Here's my script so far:

var docRef = app.activeDocument;
      var fileName = docRef.textFrames.add();
      //Create a new text box for placed file name
      fileName.contents = docRef.placedItems[0].file.name;
      charAttr = fileName.textRange.characterAttributes;
      charAttr.textFont = app.textFonts.getByName("Helvetica-Light");
      charAttr.size = 12;
      charAttr.fillColor = docRef.swatches[1].color;
      //Create a new text box for colors used in the file
      var colorNames = docRef.textFrames.add();
      var sL = docRef.swatches;
      var text = '';
      for (var i = 0; i < sL.length; i++) {
        if (sL[i].name != '[None]' && sL[i].name != '[Registration]') {
        text += sL[i].name + ' ';
        }
      }
      colorNames.contents = text
      colAttr = colorNames.textRange.characterAttributes;
      colAttr.textFont = app.textFonts.getByName("Helvetica-Light");
      colAttr.size = 12;