2 Replies Latest reply on Jan 29, 2017 6:35 PM by KushMastaFresh

Puppet Pin Expression Error Before Applying Expression

KushMastaFresh

I've never used expressions before so I'm guessing I have something set up wrong, but I don't know what it could be. Any help would be appreciated

I'm using After Effects CS6 on macOS Sierra.

I imported an ai file made with Illustrator CS6 as a composition named "Jo-Jo Front copy" with retained layer sizes. This composition contains multiple layers.

In the composition on the layer named "Arm L" I placed 4 puppet pins and 3 starch pins.

I want to be able to use a null object to move 2 of the puppet pins (named "Shoulder R" and "Shoulder L") while maintaining the puppet pins positions relative to each other (essentially be parented to the null object). This is what I intended to use expressions for.

I figured using an expression to make the "Position" property of each puppet pin react to the null object would get me the desired result. So I hold down the option key, click the keyframe button next to the position property of the pin I want to apply the expression to and am hit with the following error

After Effects warning: Unterminated string constant

Expression disabled.

Error occurred at line 1.

Comp: 'Jo-Jo Front copy'

Layer: 5 ('Arm L')

Property: 'Position'

Error Screen.png

And the following expression already applied before I've even added anything

effect("Puppet").arap.mesh("Mesh 1").deform("

Shoulder R").position

Expression.png

Can anyone shed light on what I'm doing wrong/have set up incorrectly?