30 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2008 8:00 PM by kglad

Limited Ammo

coolburn
      I have a shooting game that I would like to limit the ammo and have the game end after the last shot is fired. I'm new to using actionscript and I'm using flash 5. The game is an example used in a book that I have but it doesn't include how to limit the ammo. I have attached the code that is used on a frame in the main timeline. The rest of the code is in a movieclip and button that are placed off the stage. Thank you for any help you can give me with this problem.

coolburn
        • 1. Re: Limited Ammo
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          create a maxBullets variable, assign it a number and use an if-statement in shootBullet() to check if nextBullet exceeds maxBullets.
          • 2. Re: Limited Ammo
            coolburn Level 1
            First, thanks klad for your help. I did what you said and it seems to work but I'm having a new
            problem with this game. After you have fired all of the bullets and the game ends, some of the
            bullets that have been fired and the balloons that have not been hit, stay on the screen, even
            after you restart the game. How can I fix this problem? Thanks for any help you can give me. I
            have attached the code that I changed, in case it's something that I did.

coolburn
            • 3. Re: Limited Ammo
              to remove those movieclips call the following function:

• 4. Re: Limited Ammo
                coolburn Level 1
                Kglad, thanks again for your help. I put the code in that you gave me but I get the following error message when I test my game: Scene=Scene 1, Layer=objects, Frame=3: Line 225: '(' expected
                function remove BalloonsAndBulletsF(){