4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2017 2:32 PM by MargaretHuang

Acrobat DC SDK/JavaScript Training suggestion

MargaretHuang

I am looking for a training that can help me to interact with PDF fillable forms. These forms are created by Acrobat DC Professional, and we want to put these forms online, and let users fill the form and submit the form online, and we will then extract the fields data after the forms submitted, and do some kind of workflow behind scene.

I have some basic experience in JavaScript, C#, etc.

Would someone give some suggestions, and where can I find the training? Many thanks!

• 1. Re: Acrobat DC SDK/JavaScript Training suggestion
          Test Screen Name Most Valuable Participant

You want to create a server process to access the form data?

• 2. Re: Acrobat DC SDK/JavaScript Training suggestion
            MargaretHuang Level 1

Yes, that's correct - to allow users to return completed forms and data via submission to a server, and collect the form data.

We also try to get a general idea the possibilities out there, i.e. what are the available features on the PDF forms and form handling, the possible functionalities that we are able to interact with Adobe PDFs and PDF forms, and some user case studies for the implication of form processing. Just try to open our mind, and gain some knowledge in a short crash course.

• 3. Re: Acrobat DC SDK/JavaScript Training suggestion
              Test Screen Name Most Valuable Participant

Ok, well we can exclude Acrobat, the Acrobat SDK, Acrobat JavaScript. Acrobat is not technically suitable, and not licensed, for server use. Most people seem to use third party tools on the server, but we can't really discuss them here! Adobe LiveCycle Forms (a product by that full name, not a type of form, and not LiveCycle Designer) is Adobe's server form processor, but I don't know anything about that, it isn't part of the Acrobat family.