2 Replies Latest reply on Feb 12, 2017 6:38 AM by Bob Somrak

School Deployment

OllieBr

Hello!

I'm a network administrator for a secondary school (K12). We currently deploy the creative suite to our network, and students use Lightroom as part of their photography course. Lightroom by default prevents users from storing their catalogs on network drives. We found a way to trick lightroom into thinking it was a local drive. It's not pretty, but it works and we haven't had any issues with corruption or data loss. Occasionally we find a catalog that is unexpectedly 'locked', but this is usually resolved by a restart of the last machine the user was using as the catalog file handle is left open by lightroom for some reason.

Assuming this 'solution' stops working at some point, which it might very well, and that it's not "best practice", what other solutions are there for students that need to move around computers storing their photos and catalog files together?

We've considered local drives in computers, but this adds massive complications in terms of setting permissions and means students are fixed to a single computer, removing their ability to log on and work anywhere in the school. It's also a massive cost and time consideration bearing in mind we have potentially hundreds of machines to add drives to. It also makes backup significantly more complex and unreliable.

We've considered using a removable USB storage device, this seems like it would be even worse than using a network attached storage device in terms of it being disconnected unexpectedly. There's also the consideration of cost and how... forgetful... students can be! Backup would be virtually impossible.