10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 1, 2008 11:08 AM by Newsgroup_User

"this"

Woxorz
      Hello, I am new to flexing and actionscripting and I hoped some of you could advise me on "this" problem.
      I want my MXML to look something like this:

<mx:Button x="177" y="140" label="Button" click="labelChange(this, "New Label");"/>

While the actionscript will look something like this:

public function labelChange(btn, newLabel):void
      {
      btn.label = "hello";
      }

I want to pass "this" as a parameter to a function so that it will reference the button object inside the function. This works fine in javascript but it seems to do nothing in flex. I mean it compiles, but there is no visible result. I can give the button an id and reference it that way but then I would have to write a different stupid function for each button. :(

What am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: &quot;this&quot;
          flex2008 Level 3
          I dont know wat exactly is the problem in this case.but i can suggest u an alternate way
          <mx:Button id="btn1" x="177" y="140" label="Button" click="labelChange(event)"/>

public function labelChange(e:Event):void
          {
          e.currentTarget.label="hello";
          }

As far as ur eg is concerned,i think the problem is u haven defined any datatype for btn in the function declaration
          • 2. Re: &quot;this&quot;
            Level 7

"flex2008" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
            news:gbsf09$l8l$1@forums.macromedia.com...
            >I dont know wat exactly is the problem in this case.but i can suggest u an
            > alternate way
            > <mx:Button id="btn1" x="177" y="140" label="Button"
            > click="labelChange(event)"/>
            >
            > public function labelChange(e:Event):void
            > {
            > e.currentTarget.label="hello";
            > }
            >
            > As far as ur eg is concerned,i think the problem is u haven defined any