I took my computer in to be fixed when I tried to download a Windows update and it froze. When I got the computer back the technician had created a new user. I did not realize the implication of this in my Lightroom 4.4. Now I have a catalog in each user and cannot access either one unless I am within the particular user for that catalog. I have 'shared' everything I can think of to no avail.
Is there a way I can make a catalog available to either user? I am worried that when I upgrade to a new computer that I will lose one or the other catalog. I just want to be able to open lightroom and have everything available without having to change users. I do not want to lose all my virtual copies.
Place the catalog into folder where every user has access - Or simply grant access to the users folder to everyone.
Is there any message when you try to open a catalog?
If you move to a new computer, simply backup/move the catalog, why should you lose it?
Why should you lose the virtual copies?
After gaining access to the other catalogue, remember to use File > Import from Other Catalog to consolidate the two into a single catalogue. It's hard enough managing lots of pictures with one catalogue.
If you can't figure out the user access, just transfer the catalogue using a USB or external drive.